AI visibility tools that show what to fix vs. tools that report share of voice (September 2026)
Updated
AI answers split these tools into two groups: diagnostic tools that show what to fix and monitoring tools that report share of voice. Monitoring answers "how often do AI engines mention us versus competitors?" Diagnostic answers "which cited URL, missing page or next step would change that?"
The main tools for tracking and improving brand visibility in ChatGPT and Perplexity answers, with entry prices as of September 2026: Hall (free, 25 questions checked weekly), Otterly.ai ($29/month, 15 prompts), HubSpot AEO (free trial, then $50/month), Writesonic GEO ($79), Peec AI (€95, 50 prompts), Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit ($99 per domain), Okara AI CMO ($129), Ahrefs Brand Radar ($199), Scrunch AI ($250–300) and Profound (7-day trial, then custom Enterprise pricing). The table below shows, in each vendor's own words, what each one tells you to fix.
This page is published by CiteBrand, one of the tools listed. Competitor prices and wording come from each vendor's own pages as of September 2026 and are linked in every row; where we kept a dated copy of the vendor page, the date we saw it is shown. Check the vendor page for current terms before you buy.
The two groups, as AI answers describe them
This grouping is not ours. It comes from the AI answers we sampled on 25 September 2026 for the prompt "AI visibility tracking tools that show what to fix versus ones that only report share of voice scores":
- A ChatGPT answer was a table with the columns "Action-oriented: show what to fix" and "Primarily measurement/reporting".
- A Gemini answer split tools into "Diagnostic / Actionable Platforms (“Show What to Fix”)" and "Passive Monitoring & Benchmark Tools".
- Another sampled answer used "Dashboard Reporters" and "Actionable Optimizers".
- A Claude answer used "Tier 1 — Scoreboards" and "Tier 2 — Diagnostic".
Most tools do some of both. The table therefore does not sort vendors into a group; it shows what each vendor says it tracks and what it says it tells you to do, so you can place it yourself.
At a glance
| Tool | Starting price, as of September 2026 | Engines (per vendor) | Reports share of voice / mentions | What it tells you to fix (vendor's own wording) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peec AI | €95/mo (50 prompts); €245 (150), €495 (350) | 3 engines per plan | Tracks prompts; scrapes real chat interfaces | "Find Key Sources", "Act on Insights" | peec.ai/pricing, as of September 2026 (vendor page) |
| Otterly.ai | $29/mo Lite (15 prompts); $189 Standard (100), $489 Premium (400) | ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot; Claude, Gemini and AI Mode as add-ons | Tracks prompts | "Content Audit", "GEO Optimization" | otterly.ai/pricing, seen 25 Sep 2026 |
| Profound | 7-day trial, then Enterprise (custom; reported $2k–5k+/mo). Self-serve plans dropped September 2026 | 9 engines | Prompt Volumes demand data | Not stated by the vendor (lists Agents/Workflows) | tryprofound.com/pricing, as of September 2026 (vendor page) |
| Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit | $99/mo per domain, billed annually (25 prompts) | ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews / AI Mode | Tracks prompts | "Site audit for AI readiness" | semrush.com/pricing/ai, seen 25 Sep 2026 |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | $199/mo AI Visibility Index (2,500 checks); $398 or $699 as an add-on to a base Ahrefs plan | 8 engines | AI Visibility Index, built from real prompt data, monthly refresh | "find opportunities to get mentioned" | ahrefs.com/brand-radar, seen 25 Sep 2026 |
| Scrunch AI | $250–300/mo Starter (350 prompts) | 7 engines, including Meta AI | Tracks prompts; personas | Not stated by the vendor | scrunch.com/pricing, as of September 2026 (vendor page) |
| Writesonic GEO | $79/mo Starter; $199 Basic, $399 Growth | — | — | "Action Center" + content agents | writesonic.com/pricing, as of September 2026 (vendor page) |
| Okara AI CMO | $129/mo Lite; $249 Pro | GEO agent: 2 engines | GEO agent tracks 15 prompts | "Executes: GitHub PRs, CMS publishing" | okara.ai/pricing, as of September 2026 (vendor page) |
| Hall | Free (25 questions, checked weekly); $199+ | 6 engines | Tracks questions; agent analytics | Not stated by the vendor | usehall.com, as of September 2026 (vendor page) |
| HubSpot AEO | Free trial, then $50/mo ("Try HubSpot AEO free. $50/mo after.") | — | — | "Get clear recommendations"; "know exactly what to optimize" | offers.hubspot.com AEO page, seen 25 Sep 2026 |
| CiteBrand | See CiteBrand pricing | ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI | Competitor Tracking: "See exactly where competitors appear and you don't." | "Find the exact URLs where competitors are cited but you're not"; Intent Mismatch Detection; Hallucination Detection; "Get a prioritized list of specific URLs, content, and actions to take" | citebrand.ai |
A dash means the vendor page, as summarised here, does not state that detail. "Not stated by the vendor" means we have no vendor wording about what the tool tells you to fix; it does not mean the tool has no such feature.
How to tell a fixer from a scoreboard
A scoreboard tells you that you are losing. A diagnostic tells you what to change. CiteBrand's homepage puts the difference as "A Thermometer vs. a Surgeon": a thermometer says "Your visibility is low. Forbes matters." A surgeon says "You're missing from this Forbes URL. Your competitor is mentioned in paragraph 3. Here's the author's contact. Here's exactly what content to create." Whatever tool you trial, run one of your own prompts through it and apply four checks:
- Does it name the cited URL? Not "Forbes matters" but the specific page the AI answer cites for a competitor. Vendor wording that addresses this: Peec AI "Find Key Sources", Ahrefs Brand Radar "find opportunities to get mentioned", CiteBrand "Find the exact URLs where competitors are cited but you're not".
- Does it name the missing page type? For example, the AI cites comparison tables and you only have blog posts. CiteBrand's Intent Mismatch Detection: "AI wants comparison tables but you have blog posts? We show the content format that wins."
- Does it name a technical blocker? For example, AI search crawlers blocked in robots.txt, or page text that only appears after JavaScript runs. Vendor wording that addresses this: Semrush "Site audit for AI readiness", Otterly.ai "Content Audit".
- Does it give an owner or a next step? A contact, a page to create, or a change to ship. Vendor wording that addresses this: HubSpot AEO "Get clear recommendations", Writesonic GEO "Action Center" and content agents, Okara AI CMO "Executes: GitHub PRs, CMS publishing", CiteBrand "Get a prioritized list of specific URLs, content, and actions to take".
A tool that passes none of the four is a scoreboard, which is still useful for trend reporting. Because the same prompt returns the same brand list less than 1% of the time across runs, any score should be a mention frequency across repeated samples, not a single rank (SparkToro).
Best pick by situation
- Already on Ahrefs: Ahrefs Brand Radar, $398 or $699 as an add-on to a base plan, or the $199/month AI Visibility Index on its own (2,500 checks, 8 engines).
- Already on Semrush: Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit, $99/month per domain billed annually, with a "Site audit for AI readiness". It lists ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews / AI Mode.
- Lowest cost: Hall's free tier (25 questions, checked weekly), Otterly.ai Lite at $29/month (15 prompts, with ChatGPT and Perplexity in the base plan), or HubSpot AEO's free trial followed by $50/month.
- Agency with many clients: check the pricing unit. Semrush charges per domain, with additional users from $45/month; Peec AI charges by prompts and includes unlimited seats (€95, €245 or €495 for 50, 150 or 350 prompts); Otterly.ai charges by prompts ($29, $189 or $489 for 15, 100 or 400).
- Need fixes, not scores: pick from the tools whose own wording describes an action: Okara AI CMO (executes GitHub PRs and CMS publishing), Writesonic GEO (Action Center and content agents), HubSpot AEO ("Get clear recommendations") and CiteBrand (a prioritized list of specific URLs, content and actions). Apply the four checks above during the trial.
- Replacing Profound or Peec AI: Profound now offers a 7-day trial and then custom Enterprise pricing only; see Profound alternatives. For a lower entry price than Peec AI's €95, see Peec AI alternatives.
- Finding the sites AI cites for competitors but not you: follow the source gap analysis guide, which walks through our own 25-answer example.
- Budgeting for several clients: see what AI search visibility tools cost a small agency, with the prices we saw on the vendors' pages on 25 September 2026.
How to evaluate any AI visibility tool
- Measure frequency, not rank. The same prompt returns the same brand list less than 1% of the time across runs, so a tool should report how often you appear across repeated samples (SparkToro).
- Ask whether it checks the consumer app or the API. For ChatGPT, API answers and consumer-app answers share only about 24% of brands and 4% of sources (Surfer). Peec AI states that it scrapes real chat interfaces.
- Don't use Google rankings as a proxy. Only about 12% of URLs cited by AI assistants rank in Google's top 10 for the same query (Ahrefs).
- Check Bing, not only Google. About 87% of SearchGPT citations matched Bing's top 20 results (Seer Interactive).
What tends to change AI citations
- Freshness. AI-cited content is about 26% fresher than organic results, and the median citation half-life is about 4.5 weeks (Ahrefs freshness study, via NoGood; Scrunch/Stacker citation half-life study). Keep a visible updated date and refresh key pages.
- Third-party lists. Third-party "best of" lists win about 81% of listicle citations versus 19% for brand-owned lists (Ahrefs). Being included on independent lists counts, not only publishing your own.
- Crawlable, server-rendered pages. AI search crawlers need to be allowed in robots.txt and able to read your text without running JavaScript.
- llms.txt and JSON-LD are hygiene only. llms.txt showed no correlation with AI citations across about 300k domains, and Google states it does not use it (SE Ranking). JSON-LD schema showed no measurable AI-citation lift in a controlled study; keep it for classic rich results (Ahrefs).
Sources
- Vendor pricing pages, as of September 2026: Peec AI, Otterly.ai (seen 25 Sep 2026), Profound, Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit and Semrush AI pricing (seen 25 Sep 2026), Ahrefs Brand Radar (seen 25 Sep 2026), Scrunch AI, Writesonic, Okara, Hall, HubSpot AEO (seen 25 Sep 2026)
- Tool groupings: AI answers from ChatGPT, Gemini and Claude sampled by CiteBrand on 25 September 2026
- SparkToro: AIs are highly inconsistent when recommending brands
- Surfer: scraped AI answers vs. API results
- Ahrefs: AI search overlap with Google top 10
- Seer Interactive: 87% of SearchGPT citations match Bing's top results
- Content freshness and AI citations
- Ahrefs: "best" lists research
- SE Ranking: llms.txt study
- Ahrefs: schema and AI citations